Support for MONC?

Hi,

I’m a PhD student at Cambridge and I’m currently trying to work with MONC for cloud modelling. Ultimately, my aim is to model marine cloud brightening with it but so far I’m just trying to get it up and running. I’ve been getting help from Adrian Hill, who developed the model, but he no longer works at the Met Office so can only help me in his spare time. Is there anyone in your group who has worked with MONC and might be able to provide some support while I get to grips with it? Any help at all would be appreciated. I am currently still trying to build MONC and keep running into errors that I’m not sure how to solve.

Thank you,
William

Hi William,

I have access to some Cambridge systems. On what system are you trying to build MONC? What compilation errors are you seeing?

Simon.

Hi Simon,

Thanks for getting back to me. I’m currently just building it on my laptop, I’ll need to figure out what system I can get access to when it comes to running simmulations though. Currently this is the error I’m getting when I run the fcm make command (I think this is all the relevant lines):

[info] target-tree-analysis: elapsed-time=0.1s
[FAIL] mpif90 -obin/monc_driver.exe o/monc_driver.o -Llib -lmonc_driver -L/usr/lib -L/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/hdf5/mpich -lnetcdff -lnetcdf -lhdf5 -lhdf5_hl -lz -lpthread # rc=1
[FAIL] lto1: fatal error: bytecode stream in file ‘/usr/lib/libnetcdff.a’ generated with LTO version 11.2 instead of the expected 11.3
[FAIL] compilation terminated.

I’ve googled about it a bit but haven’t been able to find anything useful yet.

Kind regards,
William

Hi William,

I’m guessing that one of the software packages you installed (likely gcc, mpich or netcdf ) is from a different (Ubuntu?) release from the others. You need to ensure all software package versions are compatible. Unfortunately as this is on your laptop we are unable to offer support beyond general advice.