SDGVM units

Dear Dr. McGuire,

I’m a PhD student in Imperial College London supervised by Prof. Iain Colin Prentice. My recent forcus is on simulation of CO2 seasonal cycle amplitude using ‘P model’, and with vegetation and soil carbon outputs from SDGVM.

I found out that at some grid cell the value of vegetaion and soil carbon is extremely small, so I was wondering if the unit of vegetaion and soil carbon ‘kg/m2’ refers to per square meter grid cell, or per square meter land cover? In other words, is the extremely small value comes from the fact that the grid cell is mainly occupied by water or ice etc.? I’d really appreciated it if you could solve my puzzle. Thank you very much!

Best regards,
Wenjia Cai

Hi Wenjia
I can try to help.

What vegetation parameter are you looking at? Are you looking at the
NPP or the GPP?
Are you looking at the NPP or GPP for different plant functional types?
I think the m2 in kg/m2 refers to the grid cell area.

Patrick McGuire

Hi Patrick,

Thank you so much for quick reply! I’m looking at vegetation and soil carbon (Cveg and Csoil) from TRENDY v8 outputs. And I’m using overall vegetation and soil carbon because I need to quantify the vegetation turnover rate using overall vegetation biomass carbon and NPP simulated by P model, and quantify soil respiration using soil carbon and soil respiration rate.

When I had extremely small value of vegetation carbon, for example, 0.1g/m2 vegetation carbon with 55g/m2 NPP (NPP simulated from P model) I got very large and unrealistic vegetation turnover rate. This is why I was wondering if there’s some other reason, or just due to the disagreement between land masks/cover map we used. Fortunately this is seldom seen, but it would be good to get to the bottom of it.

Many thanks,

Wenjia

Hi Wenjia

are the units both g/m2 or kg/m2? You have 0.1g/m2. Should it be 0.1 kg/m2? What locations do you see these low values for?

Thanks.
Patrick

Hi Patrick,