Transfer CMIP6 simulations (PI run) with HadGEM3 on MetO Cray to Monsoon2

Dear CMS helpdesk

I am quite new to Monsoon2 and I want to run the suite u-ar766/trunk (HadGEM3-GC3.1-LL PI control for CMIP6) on it, so I copied it to u-ck646. But I met several problems:

1. In the suite conf/Machine Options, there are only two options ‘MetO Cray’ and ‘Archer’. So I followed the ticket (http://cms.ncas.ac.uk/ticket/3256) to make the suite run on Monsoon2. But there is no original files ‘monsoon.rc’ and ‘monsoon_restart.rc’, so I ‘steal’ it from ‘/home/d05/mvguar/roses/u-bt694/site’, whose author raised the ticket. May I ask, do you have a better way to transfer the suite to run on Monsoon2?

2. As I use the suite for research purposes, it is required to use the file " remove_cmip6_metadata.py" to remove the metadata. However, I cannot find an equivalent of “ROSE_PYTHONPATH = ‘/home/h03/fcm/rose/lib/python’” on Monsoon2 to run this script. Therefore, the task “valid_suite_info” failed and I have to manually reset it to “succeeded” every time. Is there another better way?

3. I modified the required initial conditions in “/home/d05/qgao/roses/u-ck646/rose-suite.conf”, e.g. CICE_INIT, NEMO_ICEBERGS_START, NEMO_START, REBUILD_NEMO_SCRIPT based on the above-mentioned suite “/home/d05/mvguar/roses/u-bt694”. But the task “recon” still failed with output here (’/home/d05/qgao/cylc-run/u-ck646/log/job/18500101T0000Z/recon/01/job.err’). The main problem is “Error message: Failed to open file /data/d01/ukcmip6/Restarts/u-aq853/aq853a.da25940101_00”. I cannot find where the suite requires this file, can you please advise?

Thanks for your time in advance. If you might need any additional information, please let me know.

Best regards, Qinggang

Hi Qinggang,

1. Depends on the suite sometimes the meto_cray files with work with a couple of tweaks. Adding a monsoon.rc file is the recommended way to make it easy to switch between the 2 platforms.

2. Use home/d04/fcm/rose/lib/python