Porting rosie suites to Archer2

Hi CMS,

I’m trying to port a suite that was set up for MO Cray HPC to run on Archer2 (specifically suite u-bs561). Is there some documentation available to help with this, or failing that would somebody be able to advise me how to do it?

Many thanks,
Dan

There are links to suites here:

so you can find things to copy.
If you have issues with apps there is more information, so ask (I’ve just hit a dead link, but I know it’s around :slight_smile: )

This is also useful if you’re transferring to JASMIN:

Hi Dave,

I tried last week to port the suite I want (u-bs561) to run on Archer2 by comparing with Archer2 suites. I’ve tried again today by comparing with one of the standard suites (u-bs251, which runs GA7). I’m having quite a bit of difficulty because the setup of the NCAS standard suites is very different to the suite I’m trying to port. I am quite new to the UM, so I’m struggling to identify how much this is due to the very different model setups (v. short, convection-permitting runs of the idealized UM over a small bi-periodic domain, vs. multi-year, coarse-resolution global integrations of the full UM), how much is due to running on different architectures, and how much is due simply to the coding preferences of who set up the suite.

I’ve seen elsewhere that there used to be a guide for this sort of thing (http://cms.ncas.ac.uk/archer2/porting/); is this information still available somewhere? It would be very helpful to work through it rather than semi-blindly comparing two very different suites.

Cheers,
Dan

Dan

u-bs561 does not have a site directory where architecture specific settings are maintained - many suites written with portability in mind have such a general architecture a section. u-bs561 has its machine settings buried in the suite.rc file. That makes things a little less straightforward.

Is it not possible for you to run this on Monsoon?

Grenville

Hi Grenville,